THEA 33 – Week 2: Patterns of Connectivity

This week we will focus on the Patterns of Connectivity as articulated by Bartenieff.

Here are a few more websites to peruse:

http://www.laban-analyses.org/jeffrey/2004-Bartenieff-fundamentals-Developmental-movement/summary-of-concepts.htm

http://movementhasmeaning.com/glossary/
http://movementforactors.wikispaces.com/file/view/Laban-Bartenieff.pdf/294305044/Laban-Bartenieff.pdf
Also please familiarize yourself with the Planes of Movement:
Screen Shot 2013-10-07 at 6.07.54 PM
14 thoughts on “THEA 33 – Week 2: Patterns of Connectivity

  1. I appreciated the conversation we had in class today about the problem with contracting the abdominals all the time in order to “pull up”, and the importance of releasing that tension. As a ballet dancer, my intuitive reflex is to suck in, so much so that I do it without realizing it anymore. It takes a lot of effort to trust the ability to just let go. I find that flexing the abdominals all the time creates a ripple effect through the rest of my body and movement. It ends up making my torso inflexible and my movement high, preventing me from using the ground as support or making my movement have fluidity. Though this technique somewhat serves me in ballet because it creates an ideal posture and kind of weightlessness, it overall should be something I am more mindful about because it affects my breathing and ease of motion. I plan to focus my attention less on flexing my abs and more on breathing into and through movement.

  2. I appreciate how much I have learned about breathing this week. The concentration on the different portions of the back really helped to expand my chest into all of the different planes of movement. I try to let every inhale last four counts, I hold it for another four and then do the same for exhaling. It helps keep me in touch with the beat and it makes remembering to breath a lot easier

  3. I too appreciated the conversation we had in class about the importance of having healthy habits when dancing and the importance of our health. We don’t realize how much strain we put on our bodies until they respond in the form of pain. By the time we feel this, these bad habits are already embedded into our routines and we struggle to get rid of them.

  4. I found myself engaging in a different type of thinking during class this week. I was struggling with remembering all the parts and the order of the long sequence we are doing, especially since my ballet background has trained me to remember sequences through memorizing sequences through the names of movements and positions, and I did not know what to call most of what we were doing. At first I tried to think through the sequence in a series of left and rights, but because of all the cross-lateral movements and directional changes, that just made me more confused. What finally worked for me was to imagine that I was doing one continuous movement rather than a series of the, and that made it easier to flow from movement to movement and not over think things.

  5. The psycho-physical elements to dance performance.
    I thought it was interesting in our last class when we talked about how dance not only utilizes the movement of ones body but it also transcends into our thoughts and emotions. Its easy to ignore much of what we do on a day to day basis as what I call “mindless interactions” such as walking, texting, smiling, waving, and just staring down a squirrel for instance. Nonetheless our minds are in a constant state of reaction. These reactions to the environment around us, whether relatively big or small to us, are always continuously evolving how we feel. An emotion as I looked up is defined as “a conscious mental reaction (as anger or fear) subjectively experienced as strong feeling usually directed toward a specific object and typically accompanied by physiological and behavioral changes in the body.” So from this idea of dance holding a high importance to people’s psych-physical health, I feel that being aware of this not only improves my connectivity with my own body but it also makes me aware of the space and the other people around me. Movement in space I believe has its highest impact when the dancer is aware and has a deeper understanding of his or her space. From my research in psycho-physical elements in dance I found a website that talked about people undergoing psycho physical training that I thought was very interesting.
    I want to continue to explore this connectivity with the body and mind as we continue our exploration of movement.

  6. I thoroughly enjoyed the simple breathing activity we did in class this week. Trying to move my breath to a specific part of my body was an interesting sensation. I loved both being the breather and feeling the breath through my palms on my partner’s back, both were very comforting for me. I believe Gerald mentioned something about human touch being a very simple, but very important thing; I couldn’t agree more. The psycho-physical conversation we had also followed me after I left the studio and I’ve slipped the subject and ideas into a handful of my late night conversations this past weekend. It makes a lot of sense to me for emotional memories to hide away between my shoulder blades or the back of my knees.

  7. Like others have mentioned, I too appreciated our exercise about breathing. It has helped make me aware that I don’t breath deeply when attempting particularly demanding dances. I know this only makes more difficulties for me, so I have begun to pay more attention to my breath as I go about my day, even while I’m just running around campus to get to my next class! I find it difficult and a little frustrating trying to feel my breath in all parts of my lungs, stomach and back, but it is getting easier and I’m looking forward to how it will help me in the future!

  8. From all of my dancing career I have noticed that It is very hard at times to keep my movements connected with my breathing. Sometimes I don’t even notice that I am holding my breath. But this week, during any of the exercises that we were doing, I tried to really concentrate on breathing and which movements constituted an exhale and which an inhale. By doing this, I felt that my movements became more three-dimensional.The use of breath adds another layer of movement that really draws in the audience. In 8th grade I recall going to a dance convention in Palm Springs and one of the performances only used the sound of the performers’ breath as the music. They would all inhale and exhale together which bound them closer a a troupe as well as evoking the audience to breathe with them and feel their movements.

  9. It’s really hard to expand on what everyone else has been saying, as I agree with them. The breathing really helps me remember to relax my body, and with that relaxation present, the other movements fall into place much easier.

  10. The breathing excersices this week were very interesting. Learning how to breath with the body more than just the lungs was very conforting. The expansion and contraction of our back movements, were constantly in the back of my head as I kept on doing our on the floor combinations and across the floor. Nice way to understand our different levels and dimensions of movements.

  11. The breathing exercises we did during week 2 were very eye opening for me. I have done these in the past, but it has been quite some time. I found that it has become more difficult for me to actually focus on where my breath was going, and breathing into my lower back was actually a challenge. However, by the third or fourth breath, my hinderances melted away and it became easier to send my breath to any place in the body. I carried this skill with me for the rest of class and I still find myself utilizing this skill if I feel any discomfort in my body.

Leave a Reply

