CSULB Modern IV/V – Week 6: Midterm Review

This week we will review all of the somatics material and movement phrases we have covered in class so far in preparation for your Midterm (Movement Exam) on Oct 17.

Here is what the syllabus says: “There will be a Midterm (Movement Exam) that is based upon materials learned and practiced in class and will represent the culmination of the work done over the half-semester.  It will consist of floorwork, movement exercises, across-the-floor variations, and a short phrase of movement.  Assessment will be based on knowledge and integration of somatic information to movement material, accurate rhythm, exploratory phrasing, access to kinesthetic awareness, proper alignment, efficient and dynamic shifts of weight, expansiveness in effort, quality of execution and engaged presence (breath).”

Please let me know if you have any questions or if you would like to request more specificity on a certain topic.

4 thoughts on “CSULB Modern IV/V – Week 6: Midterm Review

  1. This week was hard for me because one of my biggest weaknesses as a dancer is remembering material and sequencing, particularly the details. Trying to recall combos from weeks ago is extremely frustrating for me and as much as I know how valuable it is, my brain just doesn’t retain movement if I don’t practice it physically on a continuous basis. I have an extremely kinesthetic learning style… so if I don’t do it, I won’t know it. With the MFA concert surrounding all of my thoughts and time I didn’t practice as much as I could have, which made class almost pointless because I was just following along and not really dancing. I absolutely hate that feeling…. when you don’t know the sequencing so you have to constantly be outside of your body just to keep up. Normally I wouldn’t care so much and I would be happy just floundering around, but this was for the midterm and I wanted to take it seriously so… yeah, frustrating.

  2. I was quite amazed at what actually stayed in my body as we did the midterm review. There was a sense of muscle memory and recall that occurred. Orbits still remains the most challenging on my body. Its that line of being aware of weakness, being ok with it or doing something about it. I can relate to the frustration felt by Alison. My time becomes devoted to other things and the mind wants to just accept where it is even though part of me wants to grown technically. Given the physicality of my body I’ve noticed putting limitations on myself, or perhaps weeding out what I actually would like to be doing after graduation.

  3. Looking back and realizing all the content learned during this semester so far has been awesome. We have covered many concepts that have been eye-opening to me. When reviewing for and taking the mid-term, I noticed concepts that I am not as strong as I would like to be in yet. Floorwork has only recently been a part of my dance training, not having studied much modern floor work before coming to csulb. Head-tail connection has been a huge help for me in successful floorwork. Orbits are a concept I would personally like to review again. I have a good idea of the concept, but have not fully applied it to my movement vocabulary and movement initiation yet. I am wondering if there are more things I can do to help with the practice of orbits?

  4. I enjoyed recalling techniques that we have been working on since the beginning of class. Having a midterm involving multiple concepts helped me connect everything together. It’s interesting to me how some of them overlap and how I can take what works for me from different studies to broaden my dancing. I’m really thankful that we are spending time learning multiple techniques! I’ve heard “modds” (???) (haha) talk about techniques in the past and I would usually nod my head even though I had no idea what they were talking about. This class has educated me in different styles of modern that I have heard about (and techniques that I haven’t heard about). Plus, we are getting to physically learn about each technique and how it feels on our own bodies.

Leave a Reply

