Week 9: Material from ‘Squared Away’

Welcome back from Spring Break! I hope you all had a restful time and are ready to finish the year with renewed energy.

This week we will learn material from a piece that I am reconstructing called Squared Away. I thought it would be fitting to share this with you rather than Save the Robots because you will get to see the piece in May if you come to my company’s performances. We will also review some Orbits and Klein/Mahler this week since the time we had leading up to Spring Break was so rushed.

3 thoughts on “Week 9: Material from ‘Squared Away’

  1. Being the first week back after taking a week off, my body was not as sore as I expected. The past semester, I have really concentrated on getting rid of the extra tension I hold and I think this played a part in the condition of my body after this week. This week, we did some very tough combinations that we had little time to learn. I really enjoy being thrown a combination and having little time to figure out everything about the combination. Although this could be a very tough task, it prepares us for many things such as auditions, master classes, and even becoming a better dancer. I really enjoyed the standing combination that worked with spirals. Although it was difficult to grasp at first, once I got the basic combination, I could really explore how I was doing everything and how I could improve what I was doing. I am excited to continue bettering these combinations this upcoming week.

    • Although I was ill and didn’t make it to class that week, I TOTALLY know what you mean about not getting as sore as you remember getting in the past. I feel, as well, that it has to do with releasing tension and realizing that “working” doesn’t mean overusing all of your muscles. That movement, when done correctly, is done with the least amount of muscle tension. Learning that was an epiphany and it makes me so happy! 🙂

  2. Although I didn’t make it to class that week because I was ill I TOTALLY know what you mean about not getting as sore as you remember getting in the past. And I, as well, feel it is because of released tension in movement. Learning that “working” doesn’t mean overusing your muscles but that movement, when done correctly, uses the least amount of muscle tension. Learning that has been an epiphany and it makes me very happy 🙂

Leave a Reply

